Revert to default publishing after installing the Publishing Service

  • After the Publishing Service has been installed, users can still revert to the default publishing process using the steps found in the following Solution.
  • To disable the Publishing Service:
    1. Locate the Sitecore.Publishing.Service.*.config files and change the file extension to .disabled. The files can be found in the following folders:
      • Sitecore XP 8.2: the /App_Config/Include folder.
      • Sitecore XP 9.0: the /App_Config/Modules/PublishingService folder.
    2. Switch to the Core database and rename the /sitecore/system/Aliases/Applications/Publish item to PublishDisabled.

    To enable the Publishing Service again, you must revert the changes that you have made.


    Note that some icons related to the Publishing Service are displayed in the user interface (UI) after the Publishing Service has been disabled, for example:

    • "Publishing" icon on the Launchpad.
    • "Publishing Dashboard" icon on the Publishing Tab of the Content Editor.
    You can remove them from the UI as follows:
    1. In the Core database, create a backup of the following items:
      • /sitecore/client/Applications/Launchpad/PageSettings/Buttons/ContentEditing/Publishing
      • /sitecore/content/Applications/Content Editor/Ribbons/Chunks/Publish/Publish Dashboard
    2. Remove the items mentioned.
    Note: To enable the Publishing Service again in the UI, you must install the backup that you have made.

Applies to:

Publishing Service 1+

August 03, 2017
November 27, 2020

Keywords: 

  • Publishing