Cannot log in to Sitecore Client due to multiple same users already logged in

  • Sitecore licensing is based on the total number of concurrent client sessions. When this number reaches its threshold value, the next user is not permitted to log in. The user will get the message that the Sitecore license has a limitation for the number of concurrent users:

    The maximum number of allowed users has been reached

    The limit is reached due to idle users generated when the browser window is closed without logging out. Thus, Sitecore never gets an explicit logoff command and the client session does not get killed immediately. Since the Sitecore server has never received a logoff command, it waits until the client session time-out occurs. Default session time-out, defined by the Authentication.ClientSessionTimeout setting, is 20 minutes.

Applies to:

CMS 6+

June 11, 2019
July 09, 2019

Reference number:

94909